How To

How To Delete Messages On Messenger Permanently In 2020?

By  | 

Did you send a wrong message on Facebook Messenger and now you’re sorry? Don’t worry, you don’t have to live forever with that feeling of guilt. Now the popular messenger has a functionality that will help you in situations of this type. If you don’t know how to delete messages on Facebook Messenger, in this article we detail the process so you can do it quickly.

Deleting Facebook messages from your desktop or mobile device will take only a few seconds, although deleting complete conversations will only apply to your own inbox, not your friends’. Here we’ll explain “how to delete messages on messenger permanently”.

How To Delete Messages On Messenger (Desktop)

Step 1: log in to Facebook as you normally would.

Step 2: Click on the chat bubble in the upper right corner, and then on See all in Messenger. The last option is in the lower left.

Step 3: To delete a complete message, move the cursor over the conversation and click on the gear icon in the lower right corner. Then, press Delete.

Step 4: You will be presented with three options: Cancel, Delete or Archive. Click Remove to continue.

Step 5: To delete a part of your conversation, click on the conversation and move the cursor over the message you want to delete. Then, click on the three horizontal points and press Delete.

Step 6: If less than 10 minutes have passed since you sent the message, you will be given the option to delete the message for everyone or just for you. Once you have made your selection, press Delete.

Make sure, your friend will know you deleted a message if you chose the option for everyone. But the content of the message will no longer be available. If more than 10 minutes have passed, you can only delete the message for yourself.

How To Delete Messages On Messenger (Smartphone)

Step 1: Open the Messenger app for iOS or Android and log in as you normally would.

Step 2: If you want to delete a complete conversation, press and hold the thread or swipe left and select the red trash can. You will be given the option to hide the chat or delete it permanently.

Hidden chats can still be found using the search bar at the top of the home page. But you won’t be able to see them in your chat lists until you send another message.

Step 3: If you only want to delete a message, enter the conversation, press and hold the message you want to delete and select Delete at the bottom.

If it has been less than 10 minutes since you sent the message, you will be given the option to delete it for everyone or just for you. Once you have made your selection, press Delete. Make sure your friend will see that you deleted a message if you chose the option for everyone, but the content will no longer be available. If more than ten minutes have passed, you can only delete the message for yourself.

This article also belongs to users who search queries like:

  • how to delete messages permanently from messenger
  • how to permanently delete Facebook messages from both sides
  • how to permanently delete messenger messages from both sides

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *